I hope 2017 is treating you well! Thanks for visiting!



Chuck Copenace’s music is soulful, dynamic, jazz fusion, featuring heavy basslines, intricate beats and amazing solos. 

Chuck Copenace – Trumpet, Rhodes

Victor Lopez – Guitar

Ashley Au – Bass

Brendan Kinley – Drums

Kyle Wedlake – Alto Sax







The Chuck Copenace Group


Chuck Copenace is an Ojibway jazz musician based out of Winnipeg MB. He shares his story of recovery, spiritual awakening and how traditional ceremony changed his musical outlook. He is now one of a very elite group of musicians who honor traditional melody by incorporating spiritual songs into his work; composing and performing new music that compels the listener, each piece of music evoking a different emotion.

The Chuck Copenace Group is his own groove based jazz project formed in the spring of 2015 to perform his original music which is a unique blend of Indigenous Ceremonial music, R’nB, Funk, Hip Hop and Classical music. His group’s repertoire includes reconceptions of music by Roots Manuva, Wayne Shorter, Arvo Part and Freddie Hubbard. His most recent compositions are a brand new fusion of Sacred Melody with Jazz Funk. 


  • 2017 Indigenous Arts Festival – Fort York Historical Site, Toronto On
  • 2017 TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival 
  • 2017 APTN Aboriginal Day Live (also with Burnt Project) 
  • 2016 TD Winnipeg International Jazz Festival
  • 2016 Aboriginal Day at the Forks
  • 2016 Canada Day at Assiniboine Park
  • 2016 Gimli Icelandic Festival
  • 2015 Winnipeg Grey Cup Festival
  • 2015 Ohshkii Awards (Indigenous Music Awards)
  • Aboriginal Music Week 2015
  • Woodland Cultural Center 2015 (Six Nations Territory).

He has performed all across Canada and parts of the USA, along with numerous television appearances. He has extensive festival experience that includes performances at Winnipeg, Montreal, Saskatchewan, Vancouver and Victoria’s jazz festivals along with Winnipeg Folk Fest. Chuck has either toured, recorded or performed with many Winnipeg groups such as Mosesmayes, Burnt Project 1, Wab Kinew, Nathan, and most recently Vince Fontaine’s Indian City.






High-Res Photos





Sundance and Music

I can say I’m a sundancer now, although I probably won’t be saying that too much in my day to day life.  I did fast and complete that 4day ceremony though. I prayed, and did all that I expected of myself, even did a bit better. I spent a lot of that time reflecting and …